VARICOCELE

Операция Мармара (микрохирургическая варикоцелэктомия)VARICOCELE (varicose deformation of testicle veins) is abnormal veins of testicles (acinar plexus, pampiniform plexus) resulting from blood reflux of the spermatic cord veins or testicular vein. Varicocele occurs in 15% of men in the general population, 35% of men with primary infertility, 75-81% of men with secondary infertility. In 95% of cases veins are detected on the left side. This is due to anatomical features - the outflow of blood from the left testicular vein is carried into the left renal vein at a right angle. On the right side testicular vein falls into the inferior vena cava at a sharp angle. Because of this, hydrostatic pressure that overcomes the resistance of the intravenous valves in the left spermatic vein is increased; and the blood returns to the venous rete testis.

Патогенез Варикоцеле

Pathogenesis. Despite to that men with varicoceles are able to conceive, there is good evidence that there is a link between infertility and varicocele. A study of the World Health Organization (WHO), carried out among 9,000 women, showed that varicocele is accompanied by a decrease in testicular volume, adversely affects on the quality of sperm and Leydig cell function [1]. Another study conducted by Johnson et al., showed that 70% of healthy military recruits with palpable varicocele had abnormalities in sperm analysis. [2] In addition, animal studies [3,4] and humans [5-7] have shown that varicocele causes progressive damage to the testicles for a long time. Obviously, the surgical correction of a varicocele not only stops these changes, but also causes them to reverse the development. It is noted an increase in the likelihood of pregnancy in 80% of men after surgical correction.

Mechanisms of influence of varicocele on testicular function. Changes that occur in varicocele are plural. Expansion of the testicular veins runs the range of pathological mechanisms that violate the spermatogenesis (sperm maturation) in the testis:

Hyperthermia (heat) around the testicles. Normal sperm maturation takes place at a temperature of 34-35 ° C. Varicocele disrupts the process of heat transfer in the cavity of the scrotum and the temperature rises to body temperature; and the process of sperm maturation is disrupted. [8,9]

Hypoxia (lack of oxygen in the tissue cells) in the testis as a consequence of violations of blood flow and stagnation in the veins of  pampiniform plexus. The lack of oxygen leads to disruption of tissue supply, slowing metabolism and slowing down the process of sperm maturation.

Renal and adrenal reflux (regurgitation of blood in renal and adrenal veins). Venous blood flows away at the same kidney and adrenal with high hormones that in such concentration  have a toxic effect for the testicular tissue.

Varicocele may have clinical implications, but can also occur without any symptoms. Most often it manifests with a feeling of heaviness in the scrotum and testicular pain.

The diagnosis of clinically significant varicocele is established during the examination of the scrotum and its organs. Examination of the patient is held in the horizontal and vertical position in a warm room (the muscle fibers relax in the warmth and facilitate the inspection). During the examination the urologist tries to find extended and convoluted blood vessels under the skin of the scrotum. Scrotal ultrasound is also applied for the diagnosis. Varicocele diagnostic criterion in this case is the diameter of the lumen of the veins more than 3 mm. Venous reflux or backward flow of blood straining in veins with a smaller diameter must be confirmed using Doppler. It should be kept in mind that right-sided varicocele could exist in 50% of cases with clinically significant left-sided varicocele.

Table 1: Clinical classification of varicocele

Grade

Signs

Grade III
Grade II
Grade I

Visually determined
Palpable alone (without the Valsalva maneuver), visually not determined
Palpable only with Valsalva maneuver

Subclinical (non palpable)

Veins are more than 3 mm in diameter (scrotum ultrasound); Reflux at the Valsalva maneuver on Doppler

To be operated or not to be? Indications for the treatment of varicocele.

After the diagnosis the question “to be operated or not to be?” always arises before the.  At the present time, in the presence of a large number of sources of information, many contradictions can occur in the patient's head. Let's try to understand. There are main indications for surgical treatment of varicocele:

-                     Infertility in men. The quality and quantity of sperm in the semen are improved after carefully executed operation

-                     The presence of varicocele symptoms. Pain and feeling of heaviness in the scrotum, a cosmetic defect.

-                     Varicocele of youth age. Some researchers consider that it is necessary to carry out the operation early as possible to prevent the destruction of the testicles.

-                     Hypogonadism.  Decrease of the left testicle, compared with the contralateral, is 15-20% or more.

Surgical treatment of varicocele. Which method to choose?

Once the patient has decided to have surgery, the question ”what is the most effective method?” arises. There are several types of surgical interventions with different approaches are used in our days (retroperitoneal, inguinal, scrotal, microsurgical, laparoscopic surgery, percutaneous embolization, etc.). Each of techniques allows the patient to recover quickly and to be discharged from the hospital within one day after the operation. However, the choice of method should be based on criteria such as the likelihood of recurrence and possible complications. These points need to be thoroughly discussed with your doctor. In most cases, some patients have to deal with a relapse, when after a certain time after the surgery the patient finds symptoms of varicocele again.

Table 2: Methods of surgical correction of a varicocele.

Approach technique

Arteries saved

 

Hydrocele (hydrocele) (%)

Recurrence (%)

The possibility of serious complications

Microscopic groin (Marmar’s technique)

+

0

1

-

Retroperitoneal (Ivanisevich’s technique)

-

7

15 - 25

-

Groin (Palomo’s technique)

-

3 - 30

5 - 15

-

Laparoscopic

+

12

5 - 15

+

Embolization

+

0

7 - 25

+

The table above shows that the Marmar’s technique (microsurgical varicocelectomy) is the most effective and safe way to treat a varicocele. Its safety is due to low traumatic compared to other methods, and the efficiency is due to the smallest number of complications and recurrence rate. Surgical access at Marmar’s technique is performed at the level of outer ring of the inguinal canal, and is below the level of wearing underwear, unlike retroperitoneal and laparoscopic techniques. Spermatic cord with dilated veins is located in the area just under the skin. The length of the incision does not exceed 1.5 - 2.5 cm, which is comparable to the laparoscopic approach and much less than the retroperitoneal approach.

According to Mark Goldstein’s (CornellMedicalCenter, New-York) analisis, the results of treatment of varicocele using microsurgical Marmar’s approach from 1500 observed pairs, pregnancy occurred in 43% of cases within one year and 69% at 2 years after surgery compared with 16% in pairs with a man who refused surgical treatment and passed conservative treatment or used artificial insemination. Of the 1500 patients, only 14 have been marked by recurrent varicocele (1%).There were no hydrocele or testicular atrophy have been reported [10].

References:

  1. World Health Organization: The influence of varicocele on parameters of fertility in a large group of men presenting to infertility clinics. Fertil Steril 57:1289, 1992.
  2. Johnson DE, Pohl DR, Rivera-Correa H: Varicocele: an innocuous condition? South Med J 63:34, 1970.
  3. Nagler HM, Li XZ, Lizza EF, et al: Varicocele: temporal considerations. J Urol 134:411, 1985.
  4. Harrison RM, Lewis RW, Roberts JA: Pathophysiology of varicocele in nonhuman primates: long-term seminal and testicular changes. Fertil Steril 46:500, 1986.
  5. Russell JK: Varicocele, age, and fertility. Lancet 2:222, 1957.
  6. Lipshultz JI, Corriere JN: Progressive testicular atrophy in the varicocele patient. J Urol 117:175, 1977.
  7. Witt MA, Lipshultz LI: Varicocele: a progressive or static lesion? Urology 42:541, 1993.
  8. Williams WL, Cunningham B: Histological changes in the rat testis following heat treatment. Yale J Biol Med 12:309, 1940.
  9. Dutt RH, Hamm PT: Effect of exposure to high environmental temperatures and shearing on semen production in rams in winter. J Anim Sci 16:328, 1957.
  10. Goldstein M, Gilbert BR, Dicker AP, et al: Microsurgical inguinal varicocelectomy with delivery of the testis: an artery and lymphatic sparing technique. J Urol 148:1808, 1992.

Another services

Варикоцеле / Операция Мармара

Операция Мармара (микрохирургическая варикоцелэктомия)ВАРИКОЦЕЛЕ (варикозное расширение вен яичка) – патологическое расширение вен яичка (гроздьевидное сплетение, pampiniform plexus), возникающее в результате рефлюкса вен семенного канатика или яичковой вены. Варикоцеле встречается у 15% мужчин в общей популяции, у 35% мужчин с первичным бесплодием и у 75-81% мужчин с вторичным бесплодием. В 95% случаев расширение вен выявляется с левой стороны. Это объясняется анатомическими особенностями - отток  крови из системы левой яичковой вены осуществляется в левую почечную вену под прямым углом. С правой стороны яичковая вена впадает в нижнюю полую вену под острым углом. Из-за этого в системе левой яичковой вены повышается гидростатическое давление, которое преодолевает сопротивление клапанов и кровь обратным током попадает в венозную сеть яичка.

Патогенез ВарикоцелеНесмотря на то, что мужчины с варикоцеле способны к зачатию, существую достоверные данные о том, что имеется связь между варикоцеле и бесплодием. Исследование Всемирной Организации Здравоохранения (ВОЗ), проведённое среди 9000 мужчин, показало, что варикоцеле сопровождается уменьшением объёма яичка, влияет негативно на качество спермы и функцию клеток Лейдига[1]. Другое исследование, проведенное Johnson и сотр., показало, что у 70% здоровых военных новобранцев с пальпируемым варикоцеле имелись отклонения в анализе спермы[2]. Кроме того, исследования животных [3,4] и людей [5-7] показали, что варикоцеле вызывает прогрессирующее повреждение яичка на протяжении длительного времени. Очевидно, что хирургическая коррекция варикоцеле не только останавливает эти изменения, но и вызывает их обратное  развитие. У 80% мужчин после хирургической коррекции отмечается увеличение вероятности возникновения беременности.

Механизмы влияния варикоцеле на функцию яичек.

Изменения, которые происходят при варикоцеле, множественны. Расширение яичковых вен запускает ряд патологических механизмов, нарушающих сперматогенез (созревание сперматозоидов) в яичках:

  • Гипертермия (высокая температура) вокруг яичек. Нормальное созревание сперматозоидов происходит при температуре 34-35°С. При варикоцеле нарушается процесс теплообмена в полости мошонки и температура повышается до температуры тела и процесс созревания сперматозоидов нарушается. [8,9]
  • Гипоксия (недостаточное поступление кислорода в ткани) в яичке в следствие нарушения оттока крови и застоя ее в венах гроздевидного сплетения. Недостаток кислорода приводит к нарушению тканевого питания, замедлению метаболизма и замедлению процесса созревания сперматозоидов.
  • Почечный и надпочечниковый рефлюкс (обратный ток крови из почечной и надпочечниковой вен). При этом из почек и надпочечников оттекает кровь с высоким содержанием гормонов, которые в такой концентрации они обладают токсическим действием для ткани яичка.

Варикоцеле может иметь клинические проявления, но может протекать и бессимптомно. Чаще всего оно проявляется ощущением тяжести в мошонке и болями в яичке.

Диагноз клинически важного варикоцеле устанавливается при обследовании мошонки и её органов. Обследование пациента проходит в горизонтальном и вертикальном положении в теплом помещении (мышечные волокна в тепле расслабляются и облегчают осмотр). Во время осмотра пациента врач-уролог обнаруживает расширенные и извитые сосуды под кожей мошонки.  Для уточнения диагноза применяется ультразвуковое исследование мошонки. Диагностическим критерием варикоцеле при этом является диаметр просвета вен более 3 мм. При меньшем диаметре необходимо подтверждение венозного рефлюкса или обратного тока крови при натуживании с помощью допплерографии. Следует иметь ввиду, что в 50% случаев при клинически выраженном левостороннем варикоцеле, оно имеется и справа.

Таблица 1: Клиническая классификация варикоцеле

Степень

Признаки

Степень III
Степень II
Степень I

Определяется визуально
Пальпируется в покое (без пробы Вальсальва), визуально не определяется.
Пальпируется только при пробе Вальсальва

Субклиническое (не пальпируемое)

Вены более 3 мм в диаметре при УЗС органов мошонки; рефлюкс при пробе Вальсальва на допплерографии

Оперироваться или нет? Показания для лечения варикоцеле.

После установки диагноза перед пациентом всегда возникает вопрос – оперироваться или нет? В настоящее время, при наличии большого количества источников информации в голове пациента могут возникать множество противоречий. Давайте попробуем разобраться. Существуеют основные показания к хирургическому лечению варикоцеле:

  • Бесплодие у мужчины. После аккуратно выполненной операции наблюдается улучшение качества и увеличение количества сперматозоидов в семенной жидкости. 
  • Наличие симптомов варикоцеле – боли и ощущение тяжести в мошонке, косметический дефект.
  • Варикоцеле перипубертатного возраста (юношеское) – некоторые исследователи считают необходимым максимально рано проводить операцию, чтобы не допустить поражения яичек.
  • Гипогонадизм или уменьшение объема левого яичка в сравнении с контралатеральным на 15-20 % и более.

 

Хирургическое лечение варикоцеле. Какой метод выбрать?

После того как пациент решился оперироваться, возникает вопрос – какой способ наиболее эффективнее. Сегодня применяют несколько видов хирургических вмешательства из разных доступов (забрюшинный, паховый, мошоночный) – операция Иваниссевича, Паломо, Мармара (микрохирургический) и лапароскопические операции, перкутанная эмболизация. Каждый из методов позволяет больному быстро восстановиться и выписаться из стационара в течение одних суток после операции. Однако, при выборе метода следует опираться на такие критерии, как вероятность рецидива и возможные осложнения. Эти моменты необходимо детально обсуждать с лечащим врачом. Чаще всего, некоторым пациентам приходится сталкиваться с рецидивом, когда через определённое время после хирургического вмешательства пациент вновь находит у себя проявления варикоцеле.

 

Таблица 2: Методы хирургической коррекции варикоцеле.

Метод

Артерии сохранены

Гидроцеле (Водянка яичка) (%)

Рецидив (%)

Возможность серьёзных осложнений

Микроскопический паховый (Мармар)

+

0

1

-

Забрюшинный (Иванисевича)

-

7

15-25

-

Паховый (Паломо)

-

3-30

5-15

-

Лапароскопический

+

12

5-15

+

Эмболизация

+

0

7-25

+

 

Из приведенной таблица видно, что операция Мармара (микрохирургическая варикоцелэктомия) - наиболее эффективный и безопасный способ лечения варикоцеле. Его безопасность обусловлена малой травматичностью, по сравнению с остальными методами, а эффективность – наименьшим числом осложнений и рецидивов. Хирургический доступ при операции Мармара осуществляется у наружного кольца пахового канала, и находится ниже уровня ношения белья, в отличие от ретроперитонеальных и лапароскопических методик. Семенной канатик, в котором проходят расширенные вены, находится в этой зоне буквально под кожей. Длина разреза не превышает 1,5 – 2,5 см, что сопоставимо с лапароскопическими доступами и намного меньше чем при ретроперитонеальном доступе. 

По данным Марка Гольдштейна (Cornell Medical Center, New-York), проанализировавшего результаты лечения варикоцеле при помощи микрохирургической операции Мармара у 1500 человек, беременность в наблюдаемых парах наступила в 43% случаев в течение одного года и в 69% случаев через 2 года после операции по сравнению с 16% в парах с мужчиной, который отказался от хирургического лечения и проходил консервативное лечение или использовалось искусственное оплодотворение. Из 1500 пациентов только у  14-ти были отмечены рецидивы варикоцеле (1%). Ни водянки (гидроцеле), ни атрофии яичка отмечено не было [10].

Литература:

  1. World Health Organization: The influence of varicocele on parameters of fertility in a large group of men presenting to infertility clinics. Fertil Steril 57:1289, 1992.
  2. Johnson DE, Pohl DR, Rivera-Correa H: Varicocele: an innocuous condition? South Med J 63:34, 1970.
  3. Nagler HM, Li XZ, Lizza EF, et al: Varicocele: temporal considerations. J Urol 134:411, 1985.
  4. Harrison RM, Lewis RW, Roberts JA: Pathophysiology of varicocele in nonhuman primates: long-term seminal and testicular changes. Fertil Steril 46:500, 1986.
  5. Russell JK: Varicocele, age, and fertility. Lancet 2:222, 1957.
  6. Lipshultz JI, Corriere JN: Progressive testicular atrophy in the varicocele patient. J Urol 117:175, 1977.
  7. Witt MA, Lipshultz LI: Varicocele: a progressive or static lesion? Urology 42:541, 1993.
  8. Williams WL, Cunningham B: Histological changes in the rat testis following heat treatment. Yale J Biol Med 12:309, 1940.
  9. Dutt RH, Hamm PT: Effect of exposure to high environmental temperatures and shearing on semen production in rams in winter. J Anim Sci 16:328, 1957.
  10. Goldstein M, Gilbert BR, Dicker AP, et al: Microsurgical inguinal varicocelectomy with delivery of the testis: an artery and lymphatic sparing technique. J Urol 148:1808, 1992.

 

Другие услуги